SCG Stands

Latest Development

The Sydney Cricket Ground began work on a state-of-the-art modern pavilion, replacing the existing Noble, Bradman and Messenger stands, at the end of the 2011/12 international cricket season. Click here for the latest developments.

Stands History

Since its inception, the SCG Trust has developed the SCG into a respected sacred site of Australian sport.A venue revered by sportsmen and spectators alike, the SCG is easily recognisable by its heritage listed Members Pavilion and Ladies Pavilion.

These two iconic stands have provided a magnificent backdrop to the hundreds of memorable moments, including cricket feats, the 1938 Empire Games, rugby league, rugby union and AFL that have since graced the ground.

While the Trust will maintain the Members Pavilion and Ladies Pavilion for future generations to enjoy, it has replaced other stands as the demands for spectator comfort and modern facilities grow.

The following information was compiled by Madeleine Lindsell with reference to
Phillip Derriman'S "Grassy Pitches and Glory Years"

Stand Date built Location Architect/Builder  Alterations

Old Members’ Pavilion

1878

Site of current Ladies

Robinson & Tosh

 Used as Ladies' Pavilion after 1886 (since demolished)

 

 

 

 

 

Current Members’ Pavilion

11/1886

West side

 

Extended 1903

 

 

 

 

 

Ladies' Pavilion

1896

Sth of Members'

John Kirkpatrick

 

 

 

 

 

 

Smokers' Stand

1896

Sth of Brewongle,

site of Churchill Stand

 

Moved to No. 2 ground 1909. (since demolished)

 

 

 

 

 

Sheridan Stand

(formerly New Smokers' Stand)

1909

South end

Robertson & Marks

Renamed Sheridan in 1910

(since demolished)

 

 

 

 

 

Old Brewongle Stand

1881

Sth of Ladies'

 

Since demolished

 

 

 

 

 

New Brewongle Stand

1980

West, site of Old Brewongle Stand

Robertson & Marks

 

 

 

 

 

 

Clive Churchill Stand

1986

Sth of Brewongle, site of Sheridan

Robertson & Marks

 

 

 

 

 

 

Noble Stand

(formerly 'New Members' Pavilion')

1936

North end, site of Northern Stand

Robertson & Marks

Renamed 'Noble' in 1947. Internal reconstruction 1994. Demolished in 2012, except for the clock tower.

 

 

 

 

 

Bradman Stand

1973

East of Noble

Robertson & Marks

 Demolished in 2012

 

 

 

 

 

O'Reilly Stand

(formerly Pat Hills Stand)

1984

East side, site of Bob Stand

 

Renamed O'Reilly in June 1988

 

 

 

 

 

'Bob' Stand

1895

East side

 

Moved to North Sydney Oval in 1983

 

 

 

 

 

Doug Walters Stand

1985/86

The Hill, front of Old Scoreboard

Robertson & Marks

Since demolished

 

 

 

 

 

Dally Messenger Stand

(formerly Paddington Stand)

1984

North of O'Reilly

 

 Demolished in 2012

 

 

 

 

 

Northern Stand

1897

North of Members'

 

Since demolished

 

 

 

 

 

Victor Trumper Stand

2008

The Hill

Cox Robertson Marks/AW Edwards