Sydney FC crowned A-League champions

May 8, 2017

Sydney FC have completed a remarkable season with a penalty shootout triumph over Melbourne Victory to win the A-League championship in front of 41,546 fans at Allianz Stadium on Sunday.

Football lovers from across Australia gathered at Moore Park to witness one of the great grand finals in the competition’s history. Melbourne Victory striker Besart Berisha scored off the back of a solo effort to silence The Cove in the 20th minute.

The Sky Blues eventually broke through after a tense and turbulent first half, with Rhyan Grant tapping in after a deflection off the post. The game finished at 1-1 and neither side was able to strike in extra time as the biggest match of the season headed for penalties.  

After an early miss, Sydney FC fought back with A-League superstar Milos Ninkovic slotting the final goal to send the crowd into rapturous celebration.

"I just still believed that justice was going to happen, and we deserved it," said coach Graham Arnold.

"You know, I thought first half we didn't play our way. We ended up playing a game of kick-and-rush and fighting for the second ball, and when you have the quality of players like Ninkovic and [Alex] Brosque - that's not their type of game.

"So at half-time I basically said to them, I'd rather lose than not play our way, the way we've played all season, the way we've created history."

Graham Arnold’s men claimed the Premiers Plate and A-League Championship double for the first time since 2010. The Sydney Cricket and Sports Ground Trust would like to congratulate the club on the achievement.

Click here to see all of the photos from the day.

Back to news