Sydney FC to call Allianz Stadium home for next decade

May 17, 2017

Sydney FC has begun a new era in the club’s history with the unveiling of a new logo and renewal of a 10-year lease with Allianz Stadium.

SCG Trust Chairman Tony Shepherd: “Sydney FC have grown into one of the city’s biggest sporting clubs and we’re delighted that they will call Allianz Stadium home for the next decade.

“Their passionate fan base continues to grow as well, with more than 256,000 supporters cheering on the Sky Blues this season at one of the best football venues in the country. The atmosphere and excitement that the club’s supporters create at every event is unique in Australian sport.

“Football has a long and proud history at Moore Park and we’re excited to see Sydney FC build on that heritage in the years to come.”

Sydney FC Chairman Scott Barlow said: “Allianz Stadium is a fantastic venue and one we are very proud to call our home.

“We have had some great occasions playing at this stadium, none more so than winning the A-League Championship last weekend and I envisage we will have further success in the future.”

The Sky Blues’ new logo is an evolution of the current crest, representing the sails from the Sydney Opera House as seen from the Sky Blues’ home ground of Allianz Stadium with the Federation star remaining a feature from the previous badge.

Sydney FC Head Coach Graham Arnold says it shows the club is moving forward.

“It is important the club is continuing to evolve and grow as we improve as a team after the fantastic season that we have experienced. The city of Sydney is a big, beautiful and iconic city and this logo represents it very well.”

The club enjoyed a record-breaking season highlighted by the sellout crowd of 41,546 fans who watched Sydney FC’s penalty shootout triumph over Melbourne Victory in the A-League grand final.

The agreement with Sydney FC reaffirms Moore Park as the home of Sydney sport with a number of other long-term hiring contracts confirmed at the SCG and Allianz Stadium. These include: 

-          Sydney Swans (all matches and finals until 2047)
-          Wallabies (June Test match until 2031)
-          NSW Waratahs (all matches and finals until 2031)
-          Sydney Sevens (exclusive tournament hosting rights)
-          Sydney FC (all matches and finals until 2026)
-          NRL Finals (up to three finals matches per season)
-          Sydney Roosters (minimum of 10 matches per season)
-          St George Illawarra Dragons (two matches per season)
-          South Sydney Rabbitohs (two matches per season)
-          Cricket (New Year’s Test and two limited over international matches per summer)
-          Sydney Sixers (all matches and BBL finals. Select WBBL fixtures)
-          NSW Blues (Sheffield Shield matches)
-          Southern Stars (select international fixtures)  

Back to news